Another car sketch - Nissan 300ZX

IMG_8458 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Two weeks ago, I wrote that I might do a few more car drawings using only a ballpoint pen and a yellow highlighter, so here we go.

Let's draw a Nissan 300ZX

The Nissan 300ZX is one of those cars of which I'm not sure what to think. It's kind of cool, but at the same time it has a few weird styling cues.

IMG_8449 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Things got off to a good start with a somewhat unpleasant paper cut.

IMG_8450 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
As usual, I started with a blank page.

IMG_8451 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
I started by defining the wheels and lower lines of the car, making it easy to determine if it was worth continuing or if I have to start over. This was my second try, as my first try had a way too long wheel base.

IMG_8452 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
I'm quite happy about how the front bumper turned out. Next, I started sketching the hood, trying to allow for the lower part of the windshield to be parallell to the front bumper.

IMG_8453 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Whoops. The roofline seems to lean too much forward, and the side windows extend too far towards the rear, but whatever...

IMG_8454 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
A lot has happened since the previous picture. I think I got carried away and forgot to take pictures.

IMG_8455 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Using the yellow highlighter pen, I colored the car and the wheel centers.

IMG_8456 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Next, I applied some darker color to the roof, the windows and the tires. I should probably have used a black pen, but I kind of like the challenge of drawing using only a blue ballpoint pen and a yellow highlighter.

IMG_8457 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Finally, I applied some discreet shading. I was able to get a darker yellow by simply rubbing the highlighter in the same spot for a while. I also made the grill section of the front bumper darker.

IMG_8458 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
This is the result. I hope you like it.

IMG_8459 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
This picture shows the yellow highlighter, in case you wanted a close-up look of it.

IMG_8460 Nissan 300ZX.jpg
Here is the Nissan 300ZX together wth the Ferrari 488 GTB I drew two weeks ago. Make sure to leave an upvote regardless of whether you liked the post or not. It's the thought that counts;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now