Tokyo Ghoul


Ken Kaneki, Tokyo Ghoul - watercolor/ink/tempera/watercolor pencil

What? Not much into anime? You are missing out on some really good stuff. I know I know. It is not like I hate it or avoid it completely. Maybe some of it just never really caught my attention fully. I’ve seen some of Ghost in the Shell and Death Note before. Enjoyed them both. Perhaps it is the themes or the vibe? Dark, sinister and thought provoking.

“Why is it that the beautiful things are entwined more deeply with death than with life?” – Ken Kaneki
Tokyo Ghoul caught my attention from episode one and it has lasted through all four seasons with 4th one still unfolding. I am really glad it found its way to me. It is based on a Japanese dark fantasy manga set in alternate reality where flesh eating monsters ghouls live hiding among humans. Humans are aware of ghouls though and there is constant ongoing battle between them.

"You're wrong. It's not the world that's messed up; it's those of us in it. Yes, some ghouls walk a path that leaves sorrow in their wake, but just like humans, we can choose a different path altogether. We have a lot to learn, both your kind and mine. We need to stop fighting, and start talking. Because when it comes to the state of the world, you can't point your finger at ghouls or humans. We're all to blame." – Ken Kaneki
Kaneki all the way! Of course we can relate and parallels with our own reality can be made simply by replacing ghouls with something else from this world we all live in. Nothing really is just black or white, or is it?



My scuffed tools - watercolors, 2B pencil (always prefer 2B for drawing part since it is not too hard or too soft), my favorite brush with some tape around it to hold it together (think I’ve used only this brush for a year now), 0.3 and 0.5 rapidograph, tempera, watercolor pencil, sharpener, eraser



My thumb was not happy with the amount of dots with black ink on black on the hoodie part. Pointillism can hurt a bit and yes, left handed





Coffee will never be the same again. Also..  this is the famous mud coffee! ^^

What are your favorite characters from Tokyo Ghoul? Also, what anime I should watch next and why?

Song of the day: TK from Ling tosite sigure - Unravel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center