Uomo Universale - My Quest To Become A Renaissance Man #3

Previous Posts In This Series

Part 1 - Introduction
Part 2 - Why Do I Want To Be A Renaissance Man And The Coast Of St Malo

Well, I came to the conclusion that drawing big landscapes is still a bit too difficult for me. This is very much because I do not have much time to practice drawing as much as I would like to. Usually, I start of with a nice landscape that I really like and begin to draw it. I have figure out how to sketch the picture first and I think my sketching has gotten a lot better. But then I get to things like forests, which are just very detailed and I really do not know yet how to draw a forest without drawing every single tree - which makes the whole thing look kind of strange. I got to a point where I felt stuck and I decided to abandon the project.

20180310_192708.jpg

I decided that I need to focus on just drawing objects to get a better feeling. So I went on a walk and looked for something I thought was easy enough, yet still somewhat challenging. I found an acorn, and took it back to my room.

20180310_192149.jpg

Only when I came back to my room did I realize how complex the coloring of the acorn is. I thought this would be very easy, but there are many details. Well, aim high and see what happens. The result is not as bad as I thought. It was not easy to accomondate the shading as well as the shadow, but it went better than anticipated.

20180310_192141.jpg

It definitely is far from perfect, but I think I did a decent job with the shading, and I think you can recognize what I was trying to draw. This series will likely turn into: "Drawing random crap I found while walking".
If you have some tips for me, please leave a comment. I really enjoy this and I want to become better at drawing. So, every hint is appreciated.

Thank you for checking in. This is an ongoing process and I hope that you see some progress in comparison to the first post in this series.

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center