Carrot Head platorm testing

Carrot-head.1.jpg

I wanted to test my skills by drawing a character on paper, iPad, and Cintiq looking at which is the quickest, most fun to do and to see how they would turn out differently. Here are the results.

Drawing first on paper, this was the quickest, loosest style, and in some ways most enjoyable. There are advantages and disadvantages in the inability to edit on the fly using paper, this can be frustrating but also locks me into my decisions and can result in happy accidents.
Carrot head.Traditional.jpg

Then on iPad Pro 12.9 inch using Procreate. I'm still new to working this way and found it more time-consuming, but also quite fun. There are so many options with all the brushes and colour possibilities. Sometimes this is also a disadvantage as I spend a lot of time fiddling around.
Carrot head_Procreate copy.png

And finally using my 24inch Wacom Cintiq Pro. This one turned out the slickest in its own way, and every time I fire up this beast of a display I'm always amazed at how good it is. The only problem is that I can't use this on the couch, and I'm locked into my desk position. But I can watch movies at the same time which helps (and can also be distracting).
Carrot head.1 copy.jpg

Overall I feel like it's good to have different tools for different situations and moods. Most pros and cons are two sides of the same coin, of course. What do you think? Should i stick with one method over the others?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center