Another sketch, another story.

Portraiture is my favourite drawing genre. I do try to do other things, like nature, or still life, but often get bored halfway through and it's an effort to finish. Even doing portraits, once I get the face in, I get bored and the surrounding parts are often just roughly drawn in.

I love doing faces, even though they are so unforgiving. Just changing the shape of the chin, or the space between the eyes, makes the person look different. I often ask a little kid, "Who's this?" If they respond quickly with the right answer, I'm happy that it's 'good enough'. I have to always remind myself that it's OK for it to not be a perfect likeness (I've always struggled with perfectionism, to the point of paralysis) and just the exercise of putting pencil to paper is valuable in itself.

Here's another one I did a few days ago. I have an ASUS Zenbook laptop and a Lenovo Yogabook, which is a sort of tablet that has a keyboard attached that can be bent up behind so you can hold it like a tab, or use it as a stand. I use both to show photos I can sketch from, wherever I want (or need) to sit. At the drawing desk, in my yard, at the park, and quite often in the car.

With other genres, I might draw from life, but I always do portraits from photos. Plants have no problem sitting still and I'm far too self-conscious to ask someone to sit still for a couple of hours while I pretend to be an artist.

This one was done in the car, while waiting for my daughter at horse-riding. The photo is on the laptop. I start with an outline.
20171019_173340.jpg

Then come the eyes. Now, she's watching me - but it was time to go home.
20171019_174510.jpg

The next day, out at another stable, I worked from the Yogabook. You can see one of the tricky things with working outdoors from screen devices is reflections. I have to find a shady spot. More detail and shading going in.

20171021_104507.jpg

Then, I added some freckles. They were too dark at first, but I lightened them with the putty eraser. I kind of wanted to do more shading, especially around the eyes, but after making her look like she had chicken pox, and then saving it with the eraser, I was scared I'd mess it up and stopped.

The final image. (One side looks lighter than the other, but that's the photo, not the actual drawing.)
20171022_202808.jpg
You can see that the hair is basically scribbled in. Some artists do beautiful hair, I'm envious when I see highlighted wisps framing the face perfectly. I'm awful at hair (and cloth), at least partly because once the face is done, I just want to get it over with. All the fun (and stress) is in the face.

PS: All photos in this post are my own (both the photos and the photos in the photos!)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center