Introduceyourself Tag: Can We Do Better As A Platform???

downvotespam.png

I’ll be the first one to admit I don’t check out introduceyourself tag much anymore myself. Once in a while I go and check it out and try and find a couple people I can either leave a helpful comment or perhaps just give them a tinny upvote so they can at least earn something for their efforts.

I don’t know if it’s just because people have given up altogether on looking into this tag. Perhaps we are all just sick and tired of higher turnover rates when we invest in new people that leave. Thus focus on someone who's been around for a while now. I know that is one reason why I very rarely spend days with someone new just so they can go MIA and you never hear from them again.

As of late, it seems when I do find myself with a little bit of spare time introduceyourself is just turning into a massive pile of trash. From people spamming the tag for every post, along with, people trying cash in on easy votes to accounts posting every couple of weeks the same exact thing.

scammer1.png

spammers.png

spam3.png

spam4.png

I’ve black out cover imagnes since those are not mine and more then likey stolen anyways.

As such I think we need to do our small part from time to time and try and clean up the trash with what we have. There appears to be a fair amount of low effort repost/spam going on. While I can’t guarantee they all start with “hi steemit” and also include in the title “my name is” that is at least the first sign of a spammer. Steemit is like a park after all and if people on occasion help pick up some of the trash it would at least look a little cleaner. Granted there will always be lazy litterbugs running around making a mess of things.

I find it just fucking pathetic people are taking advantage of the kindness introduceyourself is supposed to be about. I know there are a couple of bots that do at least call out people who abuse the tag but it took me almost no effort what so ever to find several accounts to the flag. It is a little disappointing Steemit doormat style of the tag has been reduced to a pile of heaping trash.

I think we all can do better and once every couple of weeks just drop some downvotes on that crap going on there. If a couple of hundred people did this from time to time these accounts would at least one day be too low of a reputation to matter anymore. Granted I’m sure they will just keep making accounts because it's just to easy for them too. If nothing else double check before tossing these people an upvote. It’s just sad seeing people upvote and comment trying help out these abusers.

This just reminds me how thankful I was to receive such wonderful support when I first joined steemit. While I can’t find the time these days to spend too much in giving back in that manner. It is rather heartbreaking seeing that tag in such a mess. Perhaps it was always and I just never noticed. Either way these small spammy little accounts are quite powerless and even the smaller of us can do something to deal with them on occasion.

Rant over I'll go back to making gaming content now....

Information

Screenshots taken by @enjar

enjarcatsig.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center