Well Goodbye Dolly...

Let me start by saying that I have always loved and admired Dolly Parton. She is an amazing singer, actor and has been very generous to the people of her home county...Sevier County, Tennessee. Especially after the deadly fires of November 2016. However, my favor for her has changed as of yesterday when I learned that she and her board of directors have decided to remove the word "Dixie" from her Dixie Stampede dinner show. I have since learned that it is not just the name of the show that is being removed, but anything in the building that uses the word "Dixie" or references the Civil War (such as the entire premise of the show itself...the friendly North/South rivalry).

Not only is this insulting to her fan base and her hometown, but it is one of the dumbest business decisions I have ever seen. Catering to a select few who are "offended" by angering your fan base, your audience, the ones who spend their hard-earned money on your attractions...financial suicide by politically correct idiocy.

I read that this change will be at all of the Dixie Stampede locations...Pigeon Forge, TN; Branson, MO and Myrtle Beach, SC. However, the majority of Dolly's attractions including the dinner show...Dollywood, Splash Country, her new resort, etc. are located in Pigeon Forge. From the comments I have read over the past 24 hours, she has shot herself in the proverbial foot. People are MAD and are wanting to boycott not only the dinner show, but also Dollywood and anything associated with Dolly. Some are going so far as not wanting to visit the city of Pigeon Forge at all.

Many who have pre-ordered dinner show tickets or have season tickets for Dollywood are demanding refunds. And I don't blame them. I know for my family, we don't get to go on a vacation often. We simply can't afford to. But when we do, we choose what we are going to spend money on very prudently. I guess the next time we visit the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area, there will be one less expense to worry about, because like many others, we will not be returning to "Dolly's Stampede." Goodbye Dolly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center