Daddykirbs Cool Curators Contest Entry - @ponyvet

Shoutout to @countryheart and @thenectarbar to join in (ok that's my feable attempt to tag people!)

One of the first videos I saw was this one

I throw down the gauntlet and demand a showdown!

I too make my own dog treats (not so much economical as I REALLY like knowing what's in my food and my animals' food!). Most commercial treats are flavoured cornstarch and random fillers. This one's dead easy to make, only has 3 ingredients and is beyond forgiving + healthy. Great as both a treat (training and just-because) and as an additive to dry food. Also popular with cats so I've been told.

I present to you....Poodle Crack! What you need:

~1lb (454g) of fresh beef liver (I've also used lamb liver...smellier but the dogs most definitely did not complain)
3 large eggs
*2 cups of oats
1 cup of flour
(
you can really use any combination of dry ingredients...basically whatever's handy that adds up to 3 cups)

1 food processor (or a blender)
1 cookie tray
Wax/parchment paper +/- cooking spray
Oven set at 350
20180226_194610.jpg
Literally just puree the liver and eggs and then mix in the dry (I just toss it in the food processor after the liver is pureed). It will look like pink sticky cake batter.
20180226_202031.jpg
20180226_202338.jpg
Line a cookie tray with wax paper (I spray the wax paper with cooking spray as sometimes it sticks), spread the pink goo and pop it in the oven for 20 minutes.

Let cool, cut into treat-sized bits (pizza cutter works well for this) and freeze!
20180226_222646.jpg
20180226_222847.jpg

Disclaimer: kitchen will stink of liver. I'm far from being a vegan but the smell of liver turns my stomach! Good time to air out the house/make potpourri!!

I just feed mine frozen (literally jyst a ziplock bag in the freezer for quick access) . If Boomer is having a "I'm not going to eat" day I pop 2 or 3 in the microwave for about 20 seconds, grind them up and dump it on his kibble. Pretty much guaranteed to end all poodle hunger strikes. You could also bake it at a low temp overnight until they're dry. My guy seems to prefer them soft.
20180226_223024.jpg
Boomer approved!
20180226_223701.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now