A Blind Dog 🐶

f569561a-7299-4dd4-84fd-d098f99653cb.jpeg


️ As many may know Bear was hit by a car 2 years ago before I adopted him. The accident resulted in his eyes having to be removed leaving him completely blind. His owner showed up at the vet, got the estimate, said she would come back, and then she never came back. Bear became mine shortly after. Every since I have loved him with every part of me. But it's not always easy. At first his blindness caused issues. For example, he wouldn't walk unless he was between someone's legs, he was terrified of cars, and new environments were hard for him. With patience and understanding those obstacles were overcome and he runs through life with glowing confidence. Though we still have 2 remaining problems. His separation anxiety and reactivity has proven to be quite difficult. He has his bad days. Sometimes his walks don't go as planned, he rips up a shirt, or he has a barking fit for no reason. Over the years we have worked together to overcome his issues and while we still have a long way to go he hasn't destroyed one thing in months and we have learned how to make him more relaxed on walks. In return for helping him he has helped me. Whenever I'm feeling down or more panicked than usual he will sit on top of me, lick my face, and do anything in his power to lighten my world. It's not always easy. It can be so hard when you have a dog with issues, but I swear it gets so much better and it is always worth it.

#photocontests @photocontests

Photo credit :- @bear.the.blind.pit (instagram)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center