Free Solo – The only reason I'm going to watch TV again

I already touched this on an earlier post, but if you missed it, I'll explain it briefly: Recently I found clips of this guy called Alex Honnold in Youtube about his incredible performance: free soloing (climbing without any safety equipment) the 975 meters (3200 ft) tall cliff, El Capita in Yosemite Natural Park in the US.

I happened to tell about this to my dad, and he said that "there's actually some commercial on National Geographic about some sort of climbing movie." I saw it, and it was exactly the same thing I was talking about: The Free Solo documentary.

This is probably the first time in years that I'm hyped to sit in front of a TV which I have completely ignored for years, because there's rarely anything of real substances. But when there's something this good, I'm willing to make an exception. Btw, the film won an Oscar for best documentary, which wasn't surprising at all already based on the clips I've seen.

So if there are any fellow Finns with some spare time this evening, turn on National Geographic today at 21:00 (don't know if/when it's broadcasted in other countries). It's also coming again just few hours later after midnight at 00:30 – which is rather strange – and for the third time it's broadcasted on the following Sunday at 17:10.

If you're not convinced this is some good stuff, just look at the trailer yourself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center