[DLive] how do i optimize my thumbnails to be under 1mb? (mac)

Thumbnail

I love making animated anything.

I wish I knew apple motion and I could wield that easily like I can some of the smaller tools but I fear that I once I deep dive motion that’s the only thing I would ever do — most of the time I need a project or idea and the process all laid out before hand otherwise that experimentation time can just be all consuming! :)

In this video we are gonna take a look at optimising thumbnails for @dlive so they fit under 1mb, we are gonna adjust some algorithms settings, frame rate and colours so you can see how by changing those you can bring the file size down.

I use palindrome for the reverse flip in the gif to make the motion smoother, it goes back and forth but this doubles the amount of frames in the video, if you get the video right, you can just let it run and loop if your cut is perfect but that adds more time in construction and therefore it becomes a chore.

please note that not every format encodes the same way and certainly what I’ve found is that although gif brewery 3 respects alpha channels it DOES NOT understand the alpha masks from something like keynote.

your mileage may vary in other applications but I’ve found that if I’m making images for steemit to be in both normal white and the dark mode then I have to place the animation on a solid colour otherwise it does some really weird stuff with that prores alpha channel leaving a blurring effect on each frame, something to note if you are going hardcore with it.

I hope this little tutorial video helps you make some kick ass gif animations under the 1mb size for your steemit blog or for animated thumbs on @dlive

anchor | apple podcasts | google play | overcast | pcasts | RSS



pinterest epic wins pinboard → brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won vloggie for node666 (san fran 2006) → television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams in april 2011 → went to phil campbell, alabama to help raise money after tornado ripped up the town (was on sky news, bbc news)→ CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros → crowdfunded digital signage concept called pi street → now living life through digital blockchains.



My video is at DLive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center