How I Used Machine Learning to Inspire Physical Paintings

share-with-dlike.jpg

Since I was 15 years old, I have been painting graffiti under bridges and in abandoned buildings. I grew up in San Francisco when street art was booming, and inspired by the colors and aesthetic, I looked for ways to create art and taught myself to paint. As I got older, I discovered the graffiti communities on Flickr, and began making an effort to meet artists where I lived and share photos of my work online. As Tumblr grew in popularity, the community moved. Then Instagram emerged, and the community moved again.

 

Last year, I started experimenting even more with digitally manipulated images, and their role in inspiring physical paintings. I began creating aesthetically beautiful images by taking classic paintings from the 18th and 19th century and running various photoshop filters over them. I found the color and contrast from these old paintings to be unmatched and beautiful.

I took the digital pieces I created and used them as the inspiration for painting new pieces by the classical paintings on a computer and then physically painting the remixed image.

Don't expect anything mind blowing. It's interesting and I personally view AI as something that can aid creativity. think about what technology has done to art. Here is a piece of original art I made for @akibasteem contest on October that barely took me any time or effort. i just had a nice idea and I executed it with the help of technology. 

 

 

Imagine doing that by hand and all that extra work amount to zero added creativity. AI can take this to the next level. 


Source of shared Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now