This tree-planting search engine saw a 1150% increase in downloads after the Amazon rainforest fires, Business Insider - Business Insider Malaysia

Shared From Dlike

Business Insider - Ecosia, which plants trees with every search, went from 20,000 daily installs to 250,000 on Thursday.. Read more at businessinsider.my


I found this article through Reddit and thought it was interesting enough to share via Dlike.

As most of you know, the Amazon rainforest is currently experiencing its worst wildfires since... forever probably. This has caused Ecosia, a search engine which plants trees from its ad-revenue, to see a massive usage increase.

It's good to know that there's still a very small silver lining with this awful environmental disaster. It probably won't help a whole lot, but anything that takes a bit of power away from Google is good in my book. Ecosia is also pretty open on their finances and how the ad-revenue is spent.

Ecosia's blog contains various articles about their tree-planting projects, it's quite interesting to read about the work they've done.

I've now switched over from Google to Ecosia on all my devices and the search results seem to be pretty good. I should note that their search engine is powered by Microsoft, which isn't a problem for me personally, since I have used Bing in the past and I'd say it's almost on par with Google (not entirely though).

Give Ecosia a try for yourself, it might just be able to replace Google for you too!


Source of shared Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center