Cardboard Winter Glow: My DIY Snow Village

IMG_1261~2.JPG

In my recent Christmas, I wanted to craft a winter wonderland, and what better material than humble cardboard boxes? I gathered six boxes, each a neat 5 inches tall, and with a bit of patience, transformed them into a miniature snow village.

IMG_1326~2.JPG

Instead of paint, I opted for white plaster to create a textured, snowy finish on the houses. It wasn't about perfection, but about capturing the charm of a freshly snow-blanketed landscape. The imperfections added to the whimsy, like little snowdrifts clinging to the sides.

Then came the magic touch: battery-operated candles nestled inside each house. The moment I switched them on, the village came alive! The warm glow peeked through the windows, casting inviting shadows and highlighting the cozy nooks within. It was like stepping into a tiny, twinkling world where winter held no chill, only a gentle, welcoming embrace.

I arranged the houses on a peg and my cardboard snow village was born. It wasn't fancy or expensive, but it was brimming with creativity and warmth. The soft light from within each house, the fairy lights around and the charming imperfections of the cardboard itself created a scene that sparked joy and wonder in everyone who saw it.

IMG_1327.JPG

My Christmas decorations weren't store-bought ornaments; they were a tiny frozen world I built with my own hands. It's a reminder that magic doesn't need a hefty price tag, it just needs a bit of imagination and a willingness to get creative. So, next time you're looking for a unique and heartwarming way to decorate, consider embracing the humble cardboard box! You might just surprise yourself with what you can create.

IMG_1328~2.JPG

Overall it was fun and fulfilling diy project which I plan to recreate next year with improvements from what I learned as I went on with the process.

Thank you for dropping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center