LaserCutter Build Log - Replacing X-Axis and Belts

I havent posted in a while, as I was waiting for parts to arrive.

I found that the 6mm thick belts were useless, and had too much backlash for the Y-Axis. This meant that I could not get any consistent cuts.

I wondered if it could be the idler pulleys, the belts, or even the way the belts were mounted.

In the end.. I changed a few things.

Here is a picture with no X-axis installed

IMG_0614.jpg

Also, upgrading the X-axis to 2040 extrusion, instead of 2020.

Here is a bracket I made from 6mm thick aluminium flat bar. Mounted to it is a belt mount that was sourced from cloudray on aliexpress.

IMG_0615.jpg

The other side's bracket

IMG_0616.jpg

X-axis aluminium extrusion installed, along with the linear rail and the first of the 15mm thick belts and idler pulley

IMG_0617.jpg

Here is a close up on how the 15mm belt is mounted and tension-ed.

IMG_0619.jpg

Here is the other side.

IMG_0620.jpg

IMG_0621.jpg

Finally, here is a picture of the timing pulley... its huge!

IMG_0622.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center