Laser Cutter Build Log - Replacing the Y-Axis coupler

I was having some issues with the Y-Axis coupler freeing itself while in use, making the laser cutter unreliable when moving at higher speeds on the Y-Axis

I had a look online, and no where seemed to sell steel rigid thick long couplers for 5 mm shafts.

So I had a friend who has a lathe make one for me out of steel.

Here is the product he made for me

IMG_0680.jpg

Here is my original coupler - made of aluminium with 3mm grub screws. (As you can see I already lost one of the grub screws, so used a normal 3mm screw in it's place.

IMG_0681.jpg

Its not the size, its what you do with it.. is what every girl tries to tell you when they just want to make you feel better...

IMG_0682.jpg

IMG_0683.jpg

IMG_0684.jpg

Slides on perfectly to the 5mm rod

IMG_0685.jpg

Here it is fully installed.. working perfectly.

IMG_0686.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center