Quick fix to the tub drain

I just did a quick home repair and thought I would put it on the blockchain forever in case anyone has a similar problem. Our issue was that the tub drain would not stay open. When taking a shower, the lever would flip and your feet would be submerged. Googling around seemed to indicate that I should buy a new drain lever and faceplate, but when I took it apart a quick, simple, and cheap fix became apparent.

I started by taking the faceplate off with a flat head screwdriver.

IMG_20180723_172728138~2.jpg

The faceplate is actually attached to a long apparatus that is fished down the drain tube. Here's what it looks like when it's pulled out.

IMG_20180723_172045971~2.jpg

It's hard to see you because it's so corroded, but on the backside of the faceplate there are washers and a spring that use the tension from the spring to hold the lever in place. There are also cotter pins to keep everything secure.

1532386600983~2.jpg

I could tell that the spring wasn't providing enough tension, which is why the lever was just flipping back up whenever it was pressed down. I briefly thought about getting a new spring, but decided it would be easier to just increase the tension on the spring by adding an additional washer to compress the spring.

I pulled the cotter pins out, and luckily they didn't break when I was bending them. I was worried about that because they're so grungy. I was able to thread a new washer on and compress the spring while I replaced the cotter pin.

IMG_20180723_172533901~2.jpg

IMG_20180723_172525983~2.jpg

I put the counterweight back down into the drain tube and replaced the faceplate, and now the drain works. It's not a perfect or permament fix, but it should buy us a few years, and when the spring stops providing tension I'll just add another washer.

It ended up being a pretty simple job, and it saved me a trip to the hardware store, saved me 5 bucks for a new faceplate and lever, and I got the satisfaction of doing the job myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now