Skirting/ baseboard/ spare room progress progress

We've finally managed to get a step further towards finishing the spare bedroom. Hopefully it might even be finished by December 31st!

I've chosen bull nose skirting board; it's 119mm high, so about 50mm taller than the original skirting. I prefer a taller skirting. To me a short skirting feels a bit mean, taller skirting feels... luxurious isn't quite the right word, but something along those lines.

After much deliberating, I've decided on Designers Guild Perfect Water Based Eggshell in Madame Butterfly.

madame butterfly.jpg

Gosh, that's very pink. Too pink? Millennial pink? It was actually my husband who said to go for a more intense pink. I was rather surprised, as I was thinking of going for a softer, paler, more dusky pink; but against the grey floor and turquoise door knobs, all the more neutral pinks looked flat.

cherryglow.jpg
Cherry Glow.. a bit too warm.

confetti.jpg
Confetti, a bit too grey.

hellebore.jpg
Hellebore, a bit too dull.

moss-phlox.jpg
Moss phlox, too bland.

pink rapture.jpg
Pink Rapture, too lilac.

One of the really nice things about having new skirting, it that you can prime and paint it before you mount it to the wall. This means not spending hours and hours on your hands and knees painting it in situ, and not dealing with fiddly masking tape and trying not to get any paint on the walls/ floors. I have done this before; I do not care to do it again.

So, the set up; the skirting board was laid out on two planks of wood on top of the work bench. I decided to do the painting indoors, because although today (Sunday) was an unseasonably warm 20℃ (68℉) and sunny, it is also now officially Autumn, and I don't want to have to keep moving the boards indoors and outdoors, and indoors and outdoors... so indoors they stay.

We laid a spare tarp under the work bench to cover the floor in case of spillage.

20170924_130655.jpg

I used an angled brush for better coverage of the rounded top of the skirting.

20170924_130726.jpg

Painting this way is so much easier, and so much quicker than painting the skirting on the wall. I've done one coat of paint; the paint I've used requires 4 hours between coats. I started late today, so will do a second coat tomorrow morning, and a third and final coat in the afternoon.

20170924_132537.jpg

20170924_132550.jpg

20170924_134254.jpg

20170924_134304.jpg

20170924_134327.jpg

To cut the skirting at the corners we will probably need a mitre saw, so there may be a gap between finishing the skirting and mounting it, but such is life.

Hope you enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center