djs and dinosaurs

48e59f3d-e536-4127-9bcb-c5e80bce2da5.jpeg

Where else can you enjoy a gin and tonic surrounded by dinosaurs for a lecture?

There were DJs, live bands, and bartenders serving drinks with names like Jurassic Punch and Fossil Fuel. The Natural History Museum was hosting its after hours First Fridays event. It’s free for members and $20 for non-members. I enjoyed the lecture though next time I hope to find the sweet spot where sound isn’t bouncing everywhere. Very cool space to enjoy geeking out though.

92AF440E-68C9-48BF-8C34-6B75C5BBBC78.jpeg

The music was super loud in the dance areas. L and I enjoyed a bit of people watching, wondered if we were subjecting ourselves to hearing loss, and were surprised to be smelling wafts of green everywhere. I’m used to that at concerts but in a museum with kiddos running around... times AHH changing. Science geeks!! Outside, there were food trucks. L and I played catch up on the museum steps with Korean Bombz’wings and tofu. Very tasty! I wished the drinks inside had as much punch as the food outside. I guess that’s why folks smoked indoors.

a4d67e7d-da71-48e5-b303-ae29bc6ccef0.jpeg

I’m sure the t-rex didn’t mind.

Would I go again? Yes. To enjoy my friend’s company and geek out at another lecture with a gin and tonic. I recommend wearing hearing protection and asking for light ice. The way they packed ice in your cocktail, you’d think WE were living in the ice age. Or choose wine. Wine and dinosaurs might be a better pairing.


JNET


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center