Design a Character Contest - Week 4 - #SteemKitten

Hey Sketchers & Scribblers!

Here is my entry for this week's special edition of #designacharacter intiated by @w0olf in collaboration with @fraenk.

The object of this week was to design a chracter and persona for #steemkitten - a digital roaming cuddle-kitten that will upvote your content with love as well as beg for some attention of its own.

Be sure to join the #contest here at:
https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@w0olf/design-a-character-contest-week-4-special-edition-win-sbd

So without further ado, here are some poses and concepts for my #steemkitten entry! :)

7 Full Colour Hugging.jpg

I drew this one first and then only after taking my time realized that I needed to do poses too!
(I was quite annoyed at this point)

So I smashed these lil kittens out this afternoon:

11 Kitten Poses Colour.jpg

I also only later realized that the kitten was meant to be female, and now looking at my sketches I realize they come off more masculine - aaaah well - hopefully he/she still comes off cute :)

Anyway, here is a little look at some work in progress shots - I honestly sometimes feel like the sketches always look better as scribbles in pencil - without colour, but then again they are more complete with lines and colour... I guess it gives them a certain theme and sense of life?

Steem-Kitten Reaching for a Hug - Process

Step 1 - Rough Scribble
3 rough scribble concept hugging.jpg

Step 2 - Pencil Details
4 pencil hugging.jpg

Step 3 - Fineliner Outline
5 fineliner hugging.jpg

Step 4 - Cleaning up for Colour
6 cleaned up sketch hugging.jpg
First time I've done this, actually saw this in one of @zneeke 's work in progress's - check his art out too!

Step 5 - Crayon & Koki Colouring
7 Full Colour Hugging.jpg

Steem-Kitten Poses - Process

Step 1 - Rough Scribble
8 Kitten Poses Rough.jpg

Step 2 - Pencil Details
9 Kitten Poses Pencil.jpg

Step 3 - Fineliner & Koki Outline
10 Kitten Poses Outlines.jpg

Step 4 - Crayon Colouring
11 Kitten Poses Colour.jpg

Well @fraenk & @w0olf, that's me for the week! I hope you enjoyed the post and like my lil contribution to the #designacharacter contest!

Look forward to some feedback and crit from anyone who views my post :)

ALSO! Don't forget to use #sketchandscribble in your daily drawing posts so I can more easily come and upvote your rad pics even if we're not following each other yet!

Until Next Time...

Rockstar, Gamer, Philosopher, Promoter, Adventurer, Food-Lover, Dreamer, Believer, Achiever.

Upvote, Follow and Resteem via @nicknightshade on Steemit or email me at nick.knightshade@gmail.com to get in contact.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now