DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 8 - Stimpy as a Digimon evolution line

Hello Steemians!

Today I want to share with you a design I created for @W0olf's Design a Character Contest.


For this week, we had to reimagine a given character into something else.

I picked Stimpy, from Ren and Stimpy.


I always thought this was supposed to be a dog, but Wikipedia told me otherwise when I did my research for this. . Credit: Ren and Stimpy wiki.

I tried to take a fun spin on this one and... in the end, I ended up making a Digimon... and then I thought I couldn't make just one, I had to make the complete evolution line, at least from baby to champion.

And that's how I turned Stimpy into three different Digimon at once.


At first I drew my champion-stage Digimon. I liked the pose and all so I used it as my base drawing.


After that I sketched the other two stages I had in mind. I had to adjust the designs in the final drawing to make them more "Digimon like", as the shape of the eyes and that stuff wasn't quite right. Nonetheless, it was a good starting point.


After some adjustments, I came up with the final lineart.


After I was happy with my concept I colored and painted shadows in a really simple manner, because that's how most Digimon artwork is. Obviously, I tried to keep the color palette Stimpy already had going on.

And... done! Or so I thought.


I woke up with the sudden realization that I kind of hated it so I modified the coloring. Adding more light and changing some stuff.

You can see it more clearly in this gif:

And now it's done!


Afterwords

Hi! Thanks for checking out this post. I honestly suffered all the way through it. Yesterday night I had no internet... so I thought to myself "well, I can always post in the morning, that's okay".

But it wasn't okay.

When I woke up I told myself "This is kind of awful" so I went and modified the coloring. But then, the lights went out. I forgot to save my progress and I lost all of the changes I made. It was a terrible experience.

Kids, don't forget to save your artwork all the time.

Luckily, I still managed to finish in time.

Anyways, this contest was a fun challenge to exercise my creativity. I find it fun to see how you can modify the concept of already existing characters in the most creative manner. For example, I turned Stimpy's signature strands of hair into horns to make it more Digimonesque.

Did you guys like the end result? Tell me what you think!

Enjoy your sunday.

EdenCI out!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now