Obsession Series 01 - Designing & Building a Conservatory

© willabgarden.dk

Unrealizable Projects


I go through phases when it comes garden design. When an intriguing element catches my attention and if it seems to be buildable, I usually move right onto design-build production. Sometimes it is a bit extemporaneous. I just got to see the outcome in front of me asap!! (buzzed)

But it is not the case for the majority of times. Then an unrealizable project manifests into a peculiar obsession of researching and image collection as if I am gathering resources for a soon to be built project. I have copious numbers of digital collections in my C drive that I am going to implement “someday.”

Hell.

Today on a metro ride back home, flipping through some of the images I have, I thought to myself: Why don’t I give it a shine through Steemit? It is the perfect, the most an adequate platform for this! no?

Here I go -




Conservatory


I am going to start the series with a conservatory - one of the small cottage projects I wanted to execute at my current home. Last spring, I started to grow a desire to have an outdoor indoor room as the weather was getting warm. I romanticized that reciprocal space between a master bedroom and a patio, where I can sit out to get sun but still in my indoor pj’s and comfort while embracing full privacy... That room. I needed it.


Conservatory Types © carlseng designs



via Pinterest. "Lean To" type would work well with our apt.

our patio, looking from inside:

IMG_3071.jpg


and I visualized:

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 1.33.37 AM.png definitely realizable... I thought




At the time, I worked at a studio where I had full and free access to a fabrication shop. It is definitely a manageable project to build with a very small amount of budget - I can buy couple 2x4s, chop them off in measures, make a woodframe, install couple greenhouse plastics for covering. I ran numbers - cost estimation for 14’x 6’ greenhouse for 400 $. Done.




via Pinterest. This would have been the closest except the flooring

via Pinterest. Not the low wall but floor decking was feasible


BUT knowing how NYC winter can completely destroy things, I knew it was not really about the cost or construction. It is just impossible to maintain and sustain a wooden structure on a New York rooftop throughout whole four seasons... I could already see loads of rotten wood scraps and a bundled up plastic window-y thing ending up in a trashcan.




via Pinterest



I have not given up yet. When I move to a right place where I can fully build something, I am just gona go for it. Going to realize my long time coming dream and delete the folder forever.


It will be soon


Youtube: Imad & Wave Wave - Getaway (ft. Samia & White Trumpet)



follow-mintvilla.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now