The End of a Debate

I just finished up an email debate with a friend.

The Debate

I believe all of God’s laws apply to us today, where she does not. I knew we had different views, but I wanted to know to what degree. It then turned into a friendly debate about why we believe what we believe. 

It surprised me how much we actually agreed on. So much so, that we would use the same arguments to make our case! That really baffled me at first, until I realized what was going on. Even though we would make the same arguments, our perspective drove us to different conclusions. 

I have to be honest. A part of me was hoping she would see my side. I mean, I thought I was making some very reasonable points. But you can’t change a person’s perspective unless they are willing to.

The Verdict

So I ended the debate with the agreement to disagree before we started beating a dead horse. And that’s ok. We can still be friends and respect each other. And it’s not like our time was wasted. If done right, a debate really tests you to see if what you believe is true, no matter the topic. 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now