Moving!

So,


I have been invited to move into @deearchi's (and Vladimir's) place. Their previous flatmate has left, and they moved into her old room, so they have space there. I am going to be setting my miners up there, and from the 7th floor, watching the dawn every morning, I am going to be continuing my work to build the Dawn Network.

When I am set up in place, the plan is for this to be on Saturday, I will be writing up a little story about me, Milica and Vladimir and their very nice apartment. My bedroom has a view directly to the east and every morning I can watch the sun rise. It's a good reminder of what I'm doing. It is my feeling that in the next 5 years the world is going to be radically changed by the impact of distributed network systems. In my opinion, the Dawn is coming very soon, the one prattled about in so many prophecies and by dubiously qualified commentators. I consider myself a qualified commentator on this though :) I am awesome, don't you know?!!!

We have possibly another person interested in working with us now, someone with experience in software sales. It is going to be another 10 weeks before Jake (@faddat) re-emerges from the darkness he has got himself caught in. Hopefully it will snap him out of the bad patterns he was into before. I am not at liberty to explain any more about the situation, but we are doing what we can to help him out.

My life has so radically changed, and as loathe as I am to say it, the genius of Steem Power is the main reason my life has changed. Both the way you can dump a bunch of money into Steem Power, and what I am doing now, mining, is about putting money into a buffer, which only feeds the money back out at a certain rate. The way that it is working out for me, I am becoming more convinced that an interest earning, slow-payout asset is something that Dawn should also have. I am terrible at managing money, but when a machine I can throw in a big pile I was lucky to catch, and then slowly have the money return, at first just to be repaid, but then with a bit of extra on top...

I have talked about the idea of creating a credit market. This is definitely on the agenda alongside the Agora Routing system beyond building the Dawn Nexus, which is the consensus/account/chat system I am in the midst of the early stages of development. Deposits are a standard mechanism in banking for providing funding for loans. Steem's mechanisms are upside down, as relates to which asset gets a boost, and the fact that SBD now has been set to zero interest, proves my point.

This is part of the reason why steem's price is going up, because it's not being sucked out into SBD. SBD's becoming a very absurd 'pegged' asset, because it's now currently worth double what the asset it is pegging is worth. Because SBD is above parity, there is no Steem being issued. What we are seeing now on the steem price is purely the rate of powerdowns, which have increased, of course, because everyone is not being paid liquid steem anymore, and the SBD rewards are being sold directly on the exchanges.

I hope that SBD is going to be abandoned, and I think, what Steemit.inc should do is remove SBD (no more issuance, and convert everyone's SBD to Steem Power) and eliminate the choices for payout, and give everyone 100% steem power. I think this would have a massive impact on further accelerating the growth of the Steem market cap. I have been banging on about deposit/loan systems, based on slow-drawing assets like Steem Power as the collateral mechanism, I hope they are paying attention, because so far **everything** I have said they should be doing, has ended up being done. They should quit pissing around and offer me a job as a systems architect!

So, the point of discussing this is to say that a cryptocurrency with a deposit/interest/loan system built into it would very rapidly grow because of the trade it facilitates... This is definitely something that must be in the first release of Dawn.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now