My experience driving a car for the first time in 2 and a half years

bangkok-traffic_77_990x742.jpg

I got my drivers license in 2012.

ive have never owned a car.

At first when i got my license i would borrow my dads old volvo 740 from the 80s.

Drift a bit on some old parking lot in the middle of nowhere.

But after that i havent really driven much.

I worked 1 year in a Sports shop in 2014-2015, it was 35km from where i lived and i drove maybe 5 times total to work, took train and bus 10 times and the 150-200 other times i rode the bicycle.

Main reason i didnt ride was when it was colder than 10 minus celcius and i had a knee problem at the same time so i couldnt ride a bicycle.

Then i went to live in Thailand for almost 2 years. There i used my bicycle as my only transport and it much warmer than Norway, no ice in the winter so it was so much easier.

i didn't drive a car once, but sat in a car maybe 100km together, some of that was even in an ambulance as my friend had a bike accident.

So now i am back in Norway, been working, yesterday it was 15 minus celcius, ive been having a cold and i had to visit the bank before work. So again i borrowed my dads old volvo, this time another one from the 90s as the 80s one was taken to the wrecking yard few years ago.

It was a weird feeling driving a car again, almost like it is too much of a responsibility. As i parked the car i was worried that it would not start again as it was 15 minus, but it did.

I guess since so many people drive their car to work everyday it cant be untrustworthy, but i still prefer my bike, atleist when it is a bit warmer than what it is now in Norway.

Benefits of cycling to work:

  • Less traffic
  • Better fitness
  • More energy at work, feeling of wellbeing
  • Loose weight
  • Its quicker in busy city's than a car
  • Its fun
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center