Cycling from South of Athens up to Acropolis

This year the nice days have been some short of rarity (at least for out South European standards) so I am trying to cycle on any nice day given hence my harvest here. This includes the all time Athens's classic of sprays on abandoned buildings:

DSC_0058.JPG

Don't get it wrong when I see me cycling often lately, this by no means is a sign that Athens has become a bicycle friendly capital. However, it has made some steps forward on that.
A few years ago an image like the following one was a thing that I was drooling at when I was visiting other European cities but now it's reality here too:

DSC_0059.JPG

I prefer to walk the cities but even cycling allows to notice details you don't when you just drive by. It's impressive how the urban environment have so much information even at a single non wide lens shot - a metro bridge, some street art on an old stone building, attempts for some green from the municipality at a rare case of no visible moving car on this junction:

DSC_0060.JPG

In case you wonder I am already at "Gazi" named after the local factory that used to be there (it's the Greek word for "gas"):

DSC_0061.JPG

DSC_0062.JPG

Not much gas around today as the factory is now hosting art events, the whole area has changed its land use drastically and now hosts the heartbeat of Athens's nightlife plus some very expensive residential buildings. The local park is sweet:

DSC_0064.JPG

DSC_0065.JPG

Though those headless trees look rather sad:

DSC_0066.JPG

Being an early bird like me is awarded with empty streets:

DSC_0067.JPG

DSC_0069.JPG

And the ability to capture things like this effortlessly uninterrupted:

DSC_0068.JPG

I said it's empty didn't I?

DSC_0071.JPG

As I look ahead I feel attracted by the colour of that purplish tree in the background:

DSC_0073.JPG

Such an adorable beauty it is contrasting the blue sky:

DSC_0074.JPG

Again, just in case you wonder, I have reached the ancient cemetery of Athens (Kerameikos):

DSC_0072.JPG

DSC_0102.JPG

I can already see Acropolis deep in the background behind this stone wall:

DSC_0075.JPG

After some cycle through this park,

DSC_0076.JPG

I am between Thisio metro station and Acropolis where lots of cafes and restaurants are and this is my most favourite building of this spot:

DSC_0077.JPG

This area is a beauty - I'll let the pictures do the talking:

3.jpg

6.jpg

5.jpg

DSC_0079.JPG

DSC_0078.JPG

DSC_0081.JPG

Sun doesn't help much but this is Acropolis:

4.jpg

I wanted to capture my "you can't imprison beauty" moment but the focus betrayed me:

DSC_0085b.jpg

(Top right corner is the top of the old Athens's observatory that you can also see in a couple of the above pictures)

Time to cycle a bit off road, also in an attempt to justify my brand new knobby bicycle tires apart from the obvious fun of it:

DSC_0088.JPG

DSC_0090.JPG

DSC_0086.JPG

DSC_0087.JPG

I am right at the foothill of Acropolis and I am taking this way back to the historic center of Athens:

DSC_0091.JPG

Seconds later I am in front of the gate of the Roman Agora:

DSC_0092.JPG

Funny how that plane comments the sky above the gate right? Want more of it? There you go:

DSC_0093.JPG

Here is Acropolis's rock from another angle:

DSC_0094.JPG

Part of the metro railway with the observatory (again) in the background):

DSC_0095.JPG

I would never use spray on a Roman building but not everyone shares my mindset:

DSC_0097.JPG

DSC_0098.JPG

Fancy some more Acropolis?

DSC_0100.JPG

This is the entrance to the Ancient Agora, a must visit if you are around:

DSC_0101.JPG

I can't say I don't enjoy the fact that the streets are still empty:

DSC_0104.JPG

On my way back home I find a bridge and I take the chance to picture "Gazi" from above:

DSC_0105.JPG

From the same spot I picture the following absurdity from above:

DSC_0106.JPG

But the local park is not absurd at all. Actually now that the light of sun is sweeter it looks even better:

DSC_0109.JPG

DSC_0110.JPG

DSC_0108.JPG

I'll leave the last bits of street art I found to your criticism in the comments below in case you feel like:

DSC_0111.JPG

DSC_0113.JPG

Time for some video isn't it? I couldn't manage to upload it on 3speak cause the latter detected an "unstable connection" and doesn't give you the chance to resume upload (if it fails you have to do it all over again) so here is YT instead and as a bonus you can watch it in 4K (music as usual is mine and original):

Hope you liked it, more to come soon 🙂
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center