FTP, Zwift, Shoulder work

Training binge over the holidays worked, did an FTP test on Zwift today (nothing magic to Zwift, it's a standard 20 minute protocol but Zwift has one pre-programmed with a really efficient warm-up effort), so it was good to get this email:

FTP.png

One small step at a time.

Other recent analysis, my average TSS/week in 2018 was 222, this week was like 308, I'm executing on my goal to up the time per week a little bit and the intensity and focus even more. This is where the engagement of Zwift is pretty cool and helps a lot, indoor training can be such a mental drain so anything to reduce the mental strain allows you to up the physical strain.

Other than that, really focused on leaning out, have cut way back on my #1 snack food (nuts, especially almonds) and this makes quite an impact on my daily calorie intake. Playing with some new lifting variations, and I plan to add this to my routine:

https://www.t-nation.com/training/tip-a-new-way-to-widen-your-shoulders

I already do a fair bit of cable work for shoulders so this looks like a nice way to mix cables and dumbbell raises (which have also figured a lot in my shoulder regimen).

If you want to get some good lifting guidance, T-Nation is a great place to go. Maybe not the best for starters, it can be a bit overwhelming, but once you have some experience and can sift through and pull out the parts that will best align to your style, you will find it useful. I have yet to see anything there that seems stupid. A lot of it is more complex than I want, or just over my head / lifting skill, but all of it has been solid advice. Plus they have a reasonable amount of eye candy on the site (but not too much, it is a serious lifting site).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now