Searching for the upvote "sweet spot" - following @beanz' lead

Hardfork 19 has been putting a crimp in my curation and I've been vocal about seriously not liking the 100% vote strength on 10 posts limit before the vote power goes in the toilet.

Pretty much from the beginning of my Steemit history I've been saying,

"If you're not a whale, upvote 100%."

As a minnow I couldn't wait for my slider! I was rewarded with it as soon as I hit 1.00m vests... and have disliked the darned thing from that moment on.

Until HF19 came around, I maintained my voting practice of 100% on all posts. I felt like I was being a good tipper. My curation includes a read through, an upvote, and often a thoughtful comment, observation, or tip. This practice works for me!

In my hey-day, I would leave anywhere between 20-60+ comments and didn't care about vote strength because it always recovered fast enough to be worth a damn. But now? I feel like I'm wasting precious time worried about how long it's going to take my account to recover.



image source

It sounds like I'm talking "me, my, and mine" right? Quite selfish, you'd think.

In reality, these upvotes are a huge part of the giving/tipping economy that we've built here. Sure, I can upvote all day, every day, and completely drain my voting strength - but then an upvote would be worth $0.00.


Pardon me but that's like having a $100 bar tab and leaving the bartender a penny. Having been a waitress and bartender in the past, that is a major insult! I'd rather a patron walk out leaving nothing than scoop up their disparaging penny.


image source

Look, if I took the time to read your post, 99% of the time it's followed up with an upvote and comment -- and I like to tip. I don't want to tip you 10 or 20%. I want to tip you 100%. But I feel like I can't anymore and that feeling SUCKS.

I know... First world problems.


image source

Moving forward

FINE! HF19 is here and I may as well stop bitching about it. Time to move forward and figure out a way to stop feeling like a bad tipper. I haven't developed a strategy because I've been too busy moping but @beanz took it in stride.

She started an experiment 2 weeks ago and it seems she's found a sweet spot for her voting habits.


image source

Here is the result of her experiment.


It will probably take about 12 hours for me to reach 100% vote power before I can begin my experiment. I will share the results in about a week. And since I have no self control over this reading/upvoting habit of mine, I've got to sign out of Steemit this evening.

Fear not!


image source

I'll be back.


In the meantime...

I found a really awesome blog post that explained how our reputation scores are calculated!


image source

Thank you @sevinwilson for this post which includes easy-to-follow illustrations.

In a nutshell you need:

  • Your reputation number (found in Steemd)
  • Take that number and find the log10(x) of it.
  • Subtract 9
  • Then multiply by 9
  • Then add 25.

Here's a handy log base 10 calculator.

Example:
This is my reputation number: 88,529,815,473,050
Using the calculator the log10(x) = 13.9470895589997
psst! take out the commas or the calculator doesn't work.
minus 9 = 4.9470895589997
multiplied by 9 = 44.5238060309973
plus 25 = 69.5238060309973

Rounded to the nearest 10th my rep score is 69.5 - or rounded down to the nearest integer is 69.

Have fun tracking when you hit the next rep score!


shout.jpg PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT shout2.jpg

You have a duty as a new Steemian to learn about witnesses and their important role within the community. Read @pfunk's Complete User's Guide to Steem Witnesses. You have 30 votes. Use them wisely.


alien.jpg
image source
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now