Origami Air

Man, I dreamed my Origami Air was crooked and deformed like molten plastic and in that dream I thought every Origami Air would be like that and I'd prefer the ceramic one because it's shape is more consistent.
That won't stop me from using the Origami Air irl tho.
Btw AB conparing the 1zpresso lineup with giving more information about the different grind size steps in microns and comparing the burrs :aiki:

J-ultra grinds crazily fine with a crazy wide range
I'd consider getting one for espresso.

First he said he won't recommend you to buy the zp6 for espresso, he set it to 0 and then 2 clicks up to grind as fine as possible where the burrs aren't touching and the espresso shot came out still too quickly.

He pulled a 18g in 30g out aiming for 24s
J-Ultra was 24s
K-Ultra was 21s
zp6 was 10s

In a blind cupping surprising he liked the shot with the zp6 the most

But he also mentioned he could have miscalculated the grind sizes.
But I guess depending on how many fines a certain grinder produces you wanna go coarser or finer than another grinder, so the birr gap could be different but then the shot time can be simmilar.
Also I guess if you grind like at 0.2 on zp6 you might get channeling leading to a faster shot. And as he did the blind cupping his least favorite cup was from the zp6

I think cupping isn't the best method to compare different grinders in terms for filter since here you have immersion while with filter you have more percolation.
And the longer you steep coffee the more simmilar will be the tds and extraction yield I guess, smaller particles just extract faster than large boulders, but I could imagine with less and bigger particles you'll also have less microfines and oils in the cup compared to a lot of small fines.
The best way to compare filter coffee grinders is probably using a particle analyzer to get approximately the same grind size (even if the grind profiles are different) and then brewing them side to side using multiple xBlooms or a poursteady with the same recipe.

The brew time might still be different so I'd adjust the grind size again and compare them when the brew time is the same too.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments