Happy Raksha Bandhan Day

I wish all my Indian community here a very Happy Raksha Bandhan day celebrations. It is the day to celebrate the love and bonding of brother and sister. The sister ties a thread which is called as Rakhi around the wrist of her brother and in return the brother promises to always protect his sister. This is one day where I am still confused about it's origin story, because there are so many mythologies behind it that I really do not know which one is the correct one.

I always feel a little sad on this day because I do not have any brother. I have my cousin brothers but I have never had that strong bonding with them and now they are all in different parts of the world. It's a big family celebration. In our family my son has his cousin sisters and they always send a Rakhi for him since we live in different cities. When I look at them celebrating this special day the emptiness in me gets consoling. I feel good watching them bond.

Though I do not have any brothers, there are 2 people in my life who I consider them to be as good as my brothers. I have never tied Rakhi to them but I do always wish them on this special day.

image.png
Source

These culture and traditions are important to be passed down from one generation to another, they make us value the bond between families. The new generation is not very keen on following so many of the old traditions but they forget that this is where our roots are and these are the little things that bring big happiness in life. This is where we learn to value our relations and we learn to become compassionate towards each other. Also these are the few days when you leave all the work aside and give importance to family. On these special days family gathers up and spends some quality time with each other.

Nowadays this day has also become a big time business, there are so many different types of Rakhis that are available in the market. When I was small I would see some very standard designs available in the market, but now we have some crazy themes. There are rakhis made of all sorts of materials including crystals.

All these are old traditions going on since centuries, there are no new traditions being introduced, so if we stop following these as well then personally I believe life will become very empty.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments