How Important Is Engagement?

How Important Is Engagement_.png

I have been looking forward to making this post all week....

A few things before I dive in...One, I'm all in on HIVE. This new home of ours, in my opinion, represents everything that is great and everything that CAN be great about a blockchain experience.

It's built by a community, for a community however there are some things we should really address if we wanna take HIVE to another level.

Take a look at this image I pulled from the trending page of the 'other blockchain'...

Trending posts — Steemit 6.png

That's super low engagement...

Add up the comments on the top 10 posts on it and you come up with...

71 total comments....On 10 posts!

Sure you can debate all you want about what deserves to trend and what doesn't but still....71 comments on the top 10 posts. :(

Combine this with the recent news that their flagship application has gone from a top 3 app to 10th (via StateOfTheDapps.com) tells me that when you don't focus on the community....You have a problem!

So what about HIVE...

How are we doing when it comes to engagement on the trending posts...

Trending posts — Hive.png

147 comments!

Pretty cool to see this huh? We've more than doubled the comments on our trending page...

This is fantastic and I'm excited to see it!

It shows that the community is very supportive of this project however we still don't see this kind of support for everyone on HIVE.

That being said, I don't expect everyone's posts to have 65 comments on them or even come close to the trending page. However I feel like sometimes we look down on branding HIVE (or the old blockchain) as a place where 'content creation' is valued!

You see...Here's the simple truth;

People want to feel valued!

And while I am not saying we should all write 20 comments an hour on other people's content, perhaps we should make an effort...Just to comment a little bit more :)

I did that whole 5-500-5000 formula years ago on the old blockchain and it started with...5 engagements (comments) a day!

I know I need to personally do a better job of engaging here and I think we can all improve!

So I'm going to step up my game going forward...Be the change I want to see in the world :)

Let's see what can happen when the members of this community...Feel valued!

I believe it'll do a few things;

  1. Retain more members! When they feel valued, they'll stick around!
  2. Increase their exposure to blockchain 'tech' (which makes them more confident!)
  3. Perhaps...Even turn a brand new content creator into an investor on HIVE!

I know that's how I started...

I just wanted to build my reputation and portfolio of content on a blockchain, I believed it was the future of everything...And because of that, I've brought my businesses here. I have invested in HIVE. And will continue to talk about how important content creation is here on the blockchain!

But I believe that it begins with members of HIVE feeling valued! This doesn't require an upvote, this requires a thoughtful comment or two on their posts!

And that's something we can all do a better job at!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center