Thinking about crypto adoption and how it will happen

I believe the complete "digitization" of money is inevitable.

The idea that we carry around pieces of paper that have a certain value "because XYZ country says so" seems crazy. Why wouldn't you want to build in privacy, portability, and all of the other goodies that come along with virtualization?

The plate full of change on your kitchen counter will some day be the same as historical accounts of islanders bartering with shells.

But virtual money isn't exactly the same as cryptocurrency. You could say that when I swipe my credit card or tap my iPhone to pay, I'm already using virtual money, so can't we just call it good?

Actually, no.

The reason we will inevitably be pulled toward cryptocurrency is the idea of self-sovereign wallets. I should be able to control my own financial resources, whenever I like, however I like. I shouldn't have to be subject to the whims of bank hours, withdrawal limits, or cross-border shenanigans.

It's fairly easy to make this case to your average person. 

However, the current process for acquiring and using cryptocurrency is too intimidating. Until the exchanges, wallet providers, and dapps start catering to the 80% of the world who doesn't have any crypto yet, we won't be able to realize the benefits of this innovation.

This post isn't exactly a rant, more of a wish to inspire. 

If you're involved in the world of crypto, and BUIDLing something great, don't forget the N00bs. They're the ones who are going to make it all worthwhile.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center