What's going on with IOTA on Binance?


caution

Hey everyone

I'd like to send out a warning to everyone who is planning to jump on IOTA. IOTA has been hot these last few days. The price skyrocketed, and IOTA currently resides in 4th place at CoinmarketCap.

A couple of days ago, I used Binance to exchange some Ethereum into IOTA. Everything went well, until I wanted to withdraw my IOTA to my external wallet. Next to the deposit/withdrawal buttons there was this tiny little exclamation mark. Everyone knows that small exclamation marks are bad news... So was this one.

When I clicked the icon, I could see the following message:

iota

'Network Congestion, Withdrawl Suspend'

And indeed, the withdrawal button was deactivated.

 

I did some research and found more than one explanation for this...

  • Binance has been hacked (the site did act funny last night)
  • IOTA has currently suspended transactions due to a bug in their system. There wallet will remain closed until the new version is ready (Doesn't really makes sense - you can use a paper wallet to store your IOTA)
  • Binance opens and closes withdrawals at random times every day, because they're overloaded (Personally, I haven't seen the withdrawal button become active a single time)

You can read some Reddit threads with more info on these explanations here:

IOTA Withdrawal From Binance

Has Binance customer support been hacked?

 

I guess we'll have to wait and see what happens... But until then, I advice you not to buy IOTA through Binance.

 

If you like this post, feel free to follow me, upvote it or resteem it!


Some Other Posts You Might Be Interested In:


Maximize Your Mining ROI - 4 Tips

Rebellious is going to change the cryptosphere for the better. Join the airdrop and get 2000 $REBL tokens for free!

Can You Predict The Future? Which Coin Do You Support (And Why)?

Upcoming Wave Of Bitcoin Forks - Get Ready!

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center