Alternative currencies are the future: why it matters for development

When I began to teach in 2012, I decided to start my course with an analysis of how money affects social order. What my students found particularly fascinating was the then-nascent world of cryptocurrencies, which I described at length as a crucial feature in the future of money.

Some colleagues criticised my approach. They accused me of indirectly encouraging students to invest in what they saw as a shady, crime-ridden financial underworld. But I was simply exposing young minds to a fast-evolving, complex phenomenon that in my view would have a major impact on power distribution in the global economy.

Read More At: http://theconversation.com/alternative-currencies-are-the-future-why-it-matters-for-development-80036

alternative currencies.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center