Week 38 - Sept 18 Investment Moves

Week 38 - Sept 18 Investment Moves

  • Current US market Conditions
  • Today's (Sept 18) Investment moves:
  • FED cuts rates - nearly 100% uptrending?
  • Buy PLTR? Tom Nash/Tom Lee views.
  • Bitcoin price update (as of Aug/Sept 2024)

Current US Market Conditions

Here are the US markets as of 2:00 pm (EST)

Market POP up after FED CUT half point (.50%) at 2 PM (EST). This means the FED sees they need to lower rates faster and start with .50% is better than signaling a 25% and wait/see method.

The FED surprised many experts as many were looking for a .25% cut. This is a dovish .50% cut.

Today's (Sept 18) Investment moves:

Here are my investment moves today:

  • Closed my RGP-covered call to release my shares.
  • Sold off my RGP shares.
  • Buy Palantir Technologies Inc. using the money from RGP.

FED cuts rates - nearly 100% uptrending?

The FED cuts rates by 50% and this might be one way to engineer a soft landing and avoid a "recession".

Here is a video of Tom Nash/Tom Lee talking about markets in the short term. If you are an options trader, you need to be aware of these types of predictions. We are cutting the rate in a non-recession cycle.

This is one reason why I'm selling off "safe, boring" dividend stocks that return me between 4%-8% and moving into GROWTH stocks. This is why I have been investing in QQQ, Bitcoin, or Palantir.

Buy PLTR? Tom Nash/Tom Lee views.

There are two reasons to buy Palantir:

  1. Being added to SP500 (if you are trading the short-term trend).
  2. If you believe AI will continue to grow and that Palantir can continue to grow its business (Buy and Hold).

In this video, Tom Lee added PLTR to one of his model portfolios. Now, this is not financial advice nor is this a buy/sell signal. As a side note, I owned PLTR before the recent run-up and have been a shareholder for several years now.

Regardless of that, I show in my today trade (Sept 18, 2024), that I sold 200 shares of RGP to free up $2K in cash. The dividend comes to me on FRIDAY and I want to exit out of this position after collecting dividends for a few years now. That $2K can be used to purchase 50 shares of PLTR and if I believe they can grow over the next decade, then I rather get rid of the dividend stock and move my cash into PLTR.

Will Palantir 5x or 10x from here? It is possible since the market cap is less than 100 billion today. It can be worth 500B (the size of Visa) or break into the top 10 biggest publicly traded companies. If you think that is possible, then it might be worth investing a few thousand dollars into it.

Bitcoin price update (as of Aug/Sept 2024)

I found this on the internet and it was updated. You can see the April 2024 halving and what's happened since then. The price has dropped after the early run-up BEFORE the APRIL halving.

What most people are interested in is can this pattern continue to $1M and $10M (the next right that is not listed yet). That means the price needs to run up in 2025 or risk touching the price from 4 years ago.

Have a profitable day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now