The Struggle of Talking Crypto With Non-Crypto People


I was at a birthday party Sunday and was talking to a guy about Bitcoin. I generally much prefer to talk about other cryptocurrencies (especially Steem, EOS, and IOTA) but at this I point I, like many of you, have resigned myself to always starting the conversation with Bitcoin.

The man I was talking to believed that Bitcoin would be shut down by the U.S. government because of an inability for them to tax it. I tried to explain to him that this was incorrect. It wasn't that they couldn't tax it, it was just that it was going to take new infrastructure and legislation to do so reliably, which would take time. I also tried to patiently explain that there was no shutting down Bitcoin without shutting down every computer carrying a copy of the ledger. That was the whole point.

I got him to budge a little, and we then went on to talk about some of the other more interesting currencies out there, but the point is that this experience is common. Crypto is just coming to the forefront of mainstream attention after over a decade of slowly broiling in the background. Right now, crypto's banner is Bitcoin.

But the focus on Bitcoin, while a great intro to crypto, is sort of missing the point, and the sooner people 'get it' the better off the new age of decentralization will be.

Follow: @jenkinrocket

Wednesday, December 13th, 2017

Progress on the Big Post continues. The end is in sight.

Big Post Progress Meter:

Source: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center