The big Patreon blowup

The idea behind the recurring crowdfunding site Patreon is good. Pay artists and other creators a small amount of money directly every month and support their work in a way that favours immersion into experiments and developing of the arts while still guaranteeing the creator a stable income.

Sadly Patreon does exactly what all other middlemen have done since the Sumerians, wedging themselves between artists and audience, making themselves an important part of the whole transaction. These last days their shenanigans went completely up in smoke. A double fee charging both the Patron and the artist was introduced in a laconic mail presenting the move to be a streamlining that would benefit the ones being charged more money...!

And then it exploded in their hands...

Patreon is a lousy website that does not make it easy to find you, not makes it easy to contact your followers and really do nothing much to earn them their 5% share.

Personally I am not sure if I want to continue using it, not as much because of all the drama, but because I think they are too expensive and offers all too little. I have an account on the open source site Liberapay that is much cheaper and fits my Cretive Commons art better. Also... I only earn 10$ a month anyway :)

Comments and discussion is more than welcome!


More reading here:

Comicsbet.com - The Patreon Fiasco: Jack Conte tells creators “We ****ed up.”

My Patron account

If you by any chance would like to support my free art with fiat-money I would be glad if you used:

My Liberapay account

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center