The Massive Wildfire on the Outskirts of Croatian City of Split

As I watch the apocalyptic scenes from my home city of Split my thoughts are with my family, friends and with the firefighters that are fighting the massive wildfire.

The worst fire I can remember in my 37 years (and I have seen a lots of them) is burning completely out of control pushed by a strong wind. It has reached the outskirts of Split very fast and has now engulfed the city in smoke.
I am very worried and I am sure many others are as well. So far there was luckily only one fatality but there are 300 thousand inhabitants and tens of thousands of tourists in the city at the present moment. The fire is threatening to close the roads towards Split pinning the people in a thick cloud of smoke. I know there is a number of Steemians from Split and presently in the city and would really like to hear them confirm they are ok.
Drži se Splite.

This is not the only wildfire presently burning on the Croatian coast and the fires are spreading throughout the Eastern Mediterranean coast. Brutal wildfires also burning in Monte Negro. Unfortunately Croatia can't spare any air support for them at the present moment.

pozarsplit11111.jpg

The smoke is already visible from space

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now