Creative Writing Challenge - Task #9 - Beer Thirty

Here is the final task of @steemfluencer's second creative writing challenge!

Beer Thirty

It was a rough day today. Our good buddy, one we have drank beers with for years needed some tough love. We held an intervention today as something needed to be done.

See, Donny could always drink, but it never seemed to be a problem because he always got all his responsibilities done. So we thought at least.

Turns out as we've gotten older and he might not have the same energy and ability to bounce back, Donny couldn't keep up with the pace he was at. He would tell us excuses about dealing with the wife when missing poker night or being late for a game.

He was telling his wife we were to blame when he was late for dinner or work. Either way it was a circle of lies that developed for quite some time.

It was catching up with him, his job was now on the line,

Don't get me wrong, we all drink the same amount. The difference is we do it two or three times a week. What we didn't know is Donny was drinking every day and at the pace we drink that's not something that can be sustained on a daily time frame.

Once we all realized he was on the ropes at his job, his marriage was failing we knew it was time.

I have had a key to the house for at least a decade now. All the guys and myself gathered just before he returns from work.

When he walked in the door he knew something was up. I wasn't know time and said "Donny I love, we gotta do something about the drinking you do."

At first he wanted to pretend he didn't know what I was talking about, but that only lasted a minute. We know each other so well for so long, he knew I'd see through it.

After sharing a talk with us and a counselor, he apologized to his family and said his goodbyes.

Donny and I drive update to a treatment facility where he will spend 30 days.

Hopefully it sets him on the right path as his current lifestyle just can not last.

That was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. Telling my best friend he has a problem and he needs to go away for a while too.

My thoughts and prayers go out to Donny, I hope he can make it through this and go back to that wonderful life he knew.


Regards,
Mitchell J

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now