Interior mapping effect in unreal engine

Hi!
For the past few weeks I've been busy writing my Engineering Tesis and besides my work thats the main reason of the lack of content. Today I actually thought that I'll show off some of the work.
So I was messing around with interior mapping effect for a game - basically, it creates an illusion of another room behind the door's window(in this case) - it is very useful for creating larger looking environments without putting actual geometry.
The effect uses InteriorCubemap node, which returns UVW coordinates that you can connect to your texture sampler with a cubemap.

Here is a 'making of'. I would love to upload a timelapse video to dtube, but for some reason I've got 'Unknown Error' all the time.

First I have created a simple corridor to make an example project(Door model in Maya + Blender, textures in Substance Painter).
corridor1sm.png

I then used this corridor to create a cubemap with SceneCaptureCube and saved it to static texture for better performance. I blurred it a little in photoshop, because the corridor is not a cube(which is what it should be for cubemaps to work without distortions, but I could eliminate most of the distortion with blur and the fact that door's window is small).
chdr.png

Here is a full effect on doors(Once again, I would love to show you that this is truly a texture and not a geometry but I cant upload a video ;/).
c1df.png

That's what I was working on(and some other cool, more complicated effects too, but they are work in progress atm). I hope to get back to drawing as soon as possible, I hope you forgive me guys! :D Have a nice day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now