Tim Holtz: Pearl Kits 1, 2, 3 & 4

Tim Holtz Pearl Kits

This post will be the last of the sets and is dedicated to Tim Holtz's Pearl Kits.

There's 4 kits in the pearls range and I got them all. I figured they would be pretty cool, who wouldn't like a pearl shimmer on their art work? And they kinda are but not with what I'm trying to do and not mixed with 100% isopropyl alcohol.

Here's what happened.

Pearls Kit #1 Deception, Alchemy & Splendor

Kit #1 Swatch

Swatch Close Up

Pearls Kit #2 Sublime, Intrigue & Tranquil

Kit #2 Swatch

Swatch Close Up

Pearls Kit #3 Enchanted, Envy & Villainous

Kit #3 Swatch

Swatch Close Up

Pearls Kit #4 Celestial, Smolder & Mineral

Kit #4 Swatch

Swatch Close Up

Summary

Ok... Pigment wise they're ok. Not as pigmented as some that I've tried ~ I would suggest more drops to achieve a richer colour. Colour wise they're also ok, it's pretty standard ~ definitely nothing I haven't seen already in the other sets.

The biggest problem I'm having with these are the clumps of mica.

And yes I have shaken the bottles. (See kits 1 and 2)

And yes, I've tried it without shaking the bottles. (See kits 3 & 4.)

It didn't matter either way, it just doesn't work with the alcohol the same way the other inks did which is pretty disappointing.

That said. I believe the pearls are still usable providing you don't try to mix it with alcohol.

For example..
I used the Enchanted ink to tint this.

Crown Chakra Pinecone Orgonite

At the moment I'm still observing the piece seeing if the colour will fade over time. The pearl part is a bit hard to tell because I did add glitter. Basically the jury is still out on this one. But hey! No clumps!

It can also be used with a brush to add detail or embellishment to a painting or colouring in book page etc.

Overall...

EHH 🤷🏻‍♀️

Had I known they clump and dont mix with alcohol well I probably would have skipped these and gotten other colour sets.

hive.blog/@hiveph ° Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center