DIY Holiday Presents // A Chunky Cowl Knit Scarf

Happy holidays everyone! I love this time of year because it is my DIY craft time. Instead of going shopping for presents, I hibernate and make things to gift to my friends and family. Today, I woke up and wanted to make a scarf for a family friend that I'd be seeing in a few hours. However, most scarfs take many hours to knit. My quick knit hack secret is to use large, bulky yarn and large needles and to make a scarf that only wraps around the neck once. I was able to make this scarf in an hour.

First, I cast on six stitches. Then I just did an hour of the knit stitch (making a garter stitch pattern). I ended up using 2.5 balls of yarn for the entire scarf.

Once I had enough scarf to wrap around my neck, I cast off. I wanted to attach the ends together, so I found a button and sewed it on the corner.

The knit holes were the perfect size to slip over the button securely, creating a successful cowl scarf.

Happy holidays, I hope you all have some time for resting and playing and self-care!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center