Covid: Interesting Tagline Here

image.png
Source: Pixabay

I don't normally post personal type things but hoping this may help someone out.

A few weeks ago I ended up picking up Covid-19 one place or another. It's hard to say where exactly because despite having general suspicions there's no way to know. Not quite sure what happened, could be anyone and anywhere at this point.

So you can qualify this experience somewhat let me just say that I am fully vaccinated as to the standards that currently define the concept of being fully vaccinated.

Day 1: Feeling of getting sick, same as any cold, trying to fight it off.

Day 2: Fever. Took a whole bunch of Tylenol, when that kicked in all was well and I went to sleep. I couldn't focus on anything. I think I checked out our 'Hiveblocks' Twitter and a few messages and that was it. Technical projects were slow, couldn't focus on them, kept forgetting what I was doing and what's on what server or where. No appetite at all.

Day 3: Same as Day 2, fever. Took one of those take-home Covid tests, came out negative. The test itself is reminiscent of a grade 9 science lab where you test for your blood type and get it wrong. Later it turned out that chances you'll test negative if you're vaccinated as your body is trying to fight it off. Same deal as previous day, accomplished relatively nothing. I got a back injury from long ago and figured it was flaring up again, a lot of back pain. No appetite at all.

Day 4: Fever went down. Still no appetite. Runny nose for a bit, cough started. Still got nothing done except for some minor things, mostly in relation to some promotional activities, nothing special. Had to do some yard work and that was alright but was more tiring than usual.

Several days later I realized I can't smell anything and everything I taste is either too sweet or too bitter. I'm not too torn up about losing the sense of smell as taking apart the sink drain or cleaning the cat box has never been as pleasant. Did realize that if there's a smell strong enough to even bypass Covid then maybe I shouldn't be wearing that shirt.

Anyhow, took the Covid test again, got a positive hit, kind of felt like this:

Source: Memegenerator site

Skipping over the days until now. Can't seem to shake the cough at all. It's a huge problem because the moment you cough in public everyone turns to you like you've got the zombie plague and just ate the head off a kitten.

Two unexpected side effects of all this: I have absolutely no desire to drink coffee or beer. I own both and I don't want them. The only coffee type product I can handle is the french vanilla drink out of Tim Hortons which isn't coffee but some dissolved powder of who knows what. Fortunately when you drink that in public no one is the wiser as it comes in a normal coffee cup. So that's that.

Aside from the Tylenol the only thing I took was some expired cough syrup which unfortunately no amount of Covid can prevent you from tasting. After the initial days I went back to the usual supplements which I typically forget to take. These are Vitamin D+K combo, Quercetin, Zinc, and a thing called N-AcetylCysteine for respiratory repair. These are just regular vitamins you pick up anywhere. I'm not a fan of the Vitamin C horse pills and avoid those.

Still have a lot of trouble keeping focused. Physical activities which are muscle memory are fine but even working with tools I've always used I end up actively trying to think what it is I'm doing. And constantly focusing on not coughing. Otherwise I'm fine.

Aside from the cough, the effects are mild in comparison to what I got after the vaccine. That really knocked me out. This is annoying but not nearly as severe. The vaccine put up a good cage match in the initial days of infection, I give it that.

I don't know what type or variant of Covid this is as my understanding is all of our testing centers have long been shut down or severely understaffed due to the lack of nurses.

If this post helped you in any way then all for the better.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
75 Comments
Ecency