1 Job and 3000 Applications - Tyranny of the Corporate world

When you think of the corporate world it is really crazy. I feel the job scenario is getting bad to worst. The other day I put up one job vacancy for a client of mine for an HR Position in Dubai on Linkedin, within the first 3 days itself I received 2k+ applications and in a week's time it touched 3k and I really wonder what is this.

It has been after a very long time that I put up a job ad so I was really taken back with this kind of response. It was not possible for me to review all the applications, but I briefly went through the profiles for the shortlisting process and managed to shortlist some 20.

In the process I observed that many were irrelevant applications, so it is either that people do not read the job description properly or that they are so desperate that they would want to try their luck and take a chance.

image.png
Source

It was a tedious process for me to review so many applications, but somewhere I wanted to be fair and pick up the right person. I have gone through this phase where I was looking for a job change and I would apply for almost every vacancy coming through and 99.9% of times there would be no response and it would be so disappointing for me. But now I realize that for the person on the other hand if this amount of applications are received, it is then almost impossible to respond to everyone. The interview process is still going on and I have not been able to finalize the right candidate. Hopefully it should happen soon, since the client requirement is urgent.

I basically do not prefer recruitment, as my forte is more towards Organization Development and Training, but then once in a while such request I do take up and work and this time I really felt exhausting.

In a way it's good that I am kind of cut off from the Corporate world, not exactly but then I work on my own terms and space, so atleast I am away from the rat race, else it is really a crazy situation. Timelines, deadlines, commitments...ufff...it's like never ending.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now