THE BOSS AND THE PEASANT: I JUST CAN’T.

First, let me introduce myself, call me “Bossy Peasant”. Last name Peasant, First name Bossy.

I’ve been working at this company called Big Toys Products (not the real name of the company) for over 6 months now. So far I like it. Of course there are some ups and downs with every company. The biggest down about this company is probably the lack of understanding towards the creative minds in the building. It’s definitely always about selling at Big Toys Products. It’s understandable but I can see why it’s frustrating to the creative minds.

Today’s blog is going to focus on why “I just can’t”. First I’d like to clarify that I’m not “The Peasant” that I’m referring to in this story. The Peasant and the Bossy Peasant are two different people sharing the same office. At one point we shared the office with our boss. The boss recently moved to a new office after getting promoted to a VP position because he’s a hard working human being who has the goal to retire at a young age. And he definitely will.

The Peasant however has the desire to leave the company and travel the world. Just like every anti-corporate America millennial who’s trying to be famous off of blogging, vlogging, Instagram, etc. Nothing wrong with that because Peasant has a talent. He sees art in everything.

So you can see where the clash begins right? Two worlds collide and it explodes.

So here’s where the story begins:

One Tuesday afternoon the Peasant was told by the Bullshitter (he’s a sales guy) about a possible photoshoot. Of course Peasant was excited about the thought of doing a photoshoot. I was also excited because that means I can cross off one of the tasks on my list if this photoshoot happens. I usually coordinate photoshoots with Peasant, and sometimes we run out of ideas because of the lack of connections. So when Bullshitter comes to us with a possible photoshoot idea, we of course jump in and try to plan for it.

After lunch, Peasant tried to explain to the Boss about this photoshoot opportunity. Both Bullshitter and I were in the room as Peasant was explaining to the Boss about why he needed to go with Bullshitter to this job site. The Boss immediately replied with, “why don’t you just give the guy a call? I don’t think you need to go to the job site too”. From that one response I knew that Peasant was immediately set off. We both expected that response but that doesn’t mean that we’re used to getting told “no”. It still throws us off and we continue to ask in hopes of getting a positive response instead. So I understand where Peasant’s frustration comes from. When you’re in the creative department, you want to do creative things. Some of these creative things require inspiration and being on site.

The Boss doesn’t always understand why it’s necessary to location scout. Or maybe to him it’s a waste of resources. One of the main problems too is because we only have Peasant to rely on when it comes to graphic designs and photography. Therefore, I also understand the Boss’ side.

For a little bit the Peasant did try to continuously explain to the Boss why it’s necessary for him to go to the site. I knew that Peasant was going to give up sooner or later, and once he does and the subject is dropped then he’s going to turn to me and Bullshitter and say, “SEE THAT?! That always happens and I just can’t”. That’s exactly what happened. Although, Boss did end up sort of saying “yes”. He said it in a way where you wouldn’t really want to follow through. It was in a condescending manner almost. It’s hard to explain, but it’s kind of like when someone agrees with you but guilt trips you at the same time I guess?

That’s what makes Peasant not want to continue with his plans. I totally understand, because it is very discouraging when your boss is saying “yes” but you know him/her well enough to know that sometimes “yes” actually means “no”.

So of course Peasant complains to me right after this incident. I said to him, “You’re both right. Nobody’s wrong”. Peasant replies with, “No. I’m right. This is why we don’t have a lot of content”. Sometimes Peasant and I aren’t on the same page, so I get frustrated too. Honestly, I feel like I always find both of them right. Because the Boss isn’t wrong to pitch the idea to maybe call one of the guys at the job site first. Peasant is also not wrong to pitch the idea of him seeing the job site in person to get a better idea of what exactly he can do with the location. It’s also good for him to maybe be at the job site in person to create a relationship with the guys who are working at the site.

Situations like this are always putting me in the middle. I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve thought about going back to school for Psychology. My first major in college was Psychology, but I switched it to Business because I’ve always wanted to start my own business. After working for different companies over the years I’ve definitely learned that every company should have a therapist (not HR) in the building during work hours. A therapist should be part of a company. The Boss and the Peasant makes me want to go back to school and be the designated therapist.

Anyway, let me know who you guys think is right and wrong. Or maybe you also feel the same way as me and agree that nobody’s wrong.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now