Celebrating the "Little" Things: How a Shelter in Place is Turning Out to be a Blessing

Yesterday a visit from my parents reminded me how awesome going back to "The Little Things" is

I visit my parents on Sundays and it is the only "social interaction" my children are having at the moment.

During the week, my dad said he would stop by on Saturday and visit the kids, and then he said nevermind. "Why increase your exposure?" was his reasoning.

The kids were not having it and called grandpa and "made" him come.

Grandpa showed up with dessert, and I was overjoyed at how much joy my kids felt for that

parfait3547625_1920.jpg

The dessert was fresh berries, yogurt, granola, and... whipped cream.

These kids were scraping the sides of the cup, licking the spoon and asking for seconds.

These are the same kids that would have looked at that dessert as a side to their pancakes for a Sunday Breakfast just 6 weeks ago

But times have changed in a little time. They don't get fresh berries all the time, cause mom doesn't shop so often and they don't last as much.

These same kids last week would have wanted chocolate cake and ice cream instead. And would have taken a visit from grandma and grandpa as a chore

Do I have to pick up my toys before they get here?

But they were happy to see grandma and grandpa. Different faces, different voices, different people to love them.

It reminded me of being a little kid

Back when it was a treat to get a treat and not an expectation.

Back when planning a trip to Disneyland was not a given.

Back when getting a package in the mail made my day.

Back when I spent lots of time with my brothers and sisters without the expectation of being taken out and entertained.

This shelter-in-place is being good for my soul, and slowing me down in ways I didn't even realize I needed

Because seriously, when was it the last time that we were thankful that grandpa showed up with a 12-pack of toilet paper? Or yogurt and granola?

Noone even asked for Soda and Chocolate. They just said thank you and gave hugs and kisses and didn't even have to be reminded to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to read. What hidden blessings are you finding in this time of slowing down?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now