St. Patrick's Day Limerick Contest!

The limerick is a very special type of humorous poem comprising of:
The 1st, 2nd and 5th lines must be 7-10 syllables and rhyme with the same rhythm.
The 3rd and 4th lines must be 5-7 syllables and rhyme with each other and again have the same rhythm.

A good example is this one by Edward Lear who was famous for his nonsense poems:
“There was an Old Man with a beard
Who said, 'It is just as I feared!
Two Owls and a Hen,
Four Larks and a Wren,
Have all built their nests in my beard!’”

st_paddys_day_01_quote.png

For this contest, I'm looking for:
An original limerick, which is humorous and fulfills the writing rules as outlined above.
It needs to be rated PG-13 at the most, so keep it relatively clean, please!

Winner gets 1 SBD plus 50% of the proceeds of this post.
2nd place gets .5 SBD plus 25% of the proceeds of this post.
All posted entries that make me smile will get resteemed and upvoted
(Unfortunately, my upvotes are still only worth a penny!)

To submit your entry (submissions will close March 23rd - I am in the Mountain time zone in the USA):

  1. post your work in the comments - either the whole limerick or a link to your post on your blog.
  2. upvote this post!
  3. resteem this post!
  4. Please strongly consider upvoting other entries as they come in - this will earn a few brownie points with me.
  5. Consider including an original photo or artwork with your entry - again, this will earn a few brownie points.
    (And yes, "brownies" are very, very Irish - and very mischievous - I have had the misfortune to encounter them before...)

!!! ALL work submitted must be original - and I will check! Plagiarism is serious and will result in flagging of the post.

Note: Donations gratefully received and will encourage me to host more contests in the future!
This contest was made possible by several contest wins of my own including ones hosted by:
@princessmewmew
@georgemales
@sjarvie5
@johnroomusic
Please check out their blogs and consider following them too!


Lori Aberle Hopkins – photographer at Viking Visual, author, student-of-the-world.
Follow, upvote and resteem me here and on Facebook
Check out my work at: RedBubble, ImageKind, and CafePress.
Camera has changed from time to time, the photographer has not. :-)
Unless otherwise stated, all photos are original to me and © 2008-2018.


 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center