Bechdel Test Contest - BRIMSTONE

I seldom join contests because I either 1) can't find it in me to join because I 'can't'/don't want to follow the rules, or 2) I don't agree with the vision of the person who is the judge so I don't want to be bothered by being critiqued by that person.

Well, in this case, 2) is not of any concern, since the contest organizer is the lovely @lilyraabe who I met while she was complimenting my blog on someone else's blog (what a way to make me smile :D). But 1) is, as almost always, a bit of a concern. I will not follow all the rules in my entry. But after you have seen the movie, which I hope you all will, you will understand why I added this movie to the contest anyway. And why I might, but that will only be possible to conclude in hindsight, have followed the rules anyway.

Well, if that didn't make you curious...

THE BECHDEL TEST


For those who don't know, @lilyraabe was calling on 'feminists and film buffs' for movies that pass the Bechdel Test.

From her blog:


The Bechdel Test examines whether women in films are portrayed as three-dimensional human beings with a range of lived experience and interests that do not revolve around men. The primary criteria for a film to pass the test are:

(1) it has to have at least two women in it
(2) who talk to each other
(3) about something besides a man.


And that's when Lily adds an awesome GIF because that's just what she does.

Well, here is the thing. 'My' movie has 1) at least two women in it. They don't really 2) talk to each other since the main female character can't speak, and their non-verbal communication is almost always about 3) a (the!) man. But: not in the, and that's what I believe the Bechdel Test is about, classical 'we are women and we only live to be loved by a man' kind of way. Which is why I still dare to add this movie to @lilyraabe's contest.

WHY I'M SHARING BRIMSTONE


The movie Brimstone is basically a cross-over between one of the most intense thrillers you have ever seen and the (also already in the 'gets under your skin' category) series The Handmaids Tale.

Screen Shot 2018-02-21 at 23.48.39.png
[Main character, still I screenshotted from the official trailer)]

It's directed by Martin Koolhoven, a Dutch (yes, I'm Dutch too, and yes, it would be awesome if more film lovers from the USA would watch European movies, so yes, that's part of the reason I'm adding this movie to the contest ;-)) film director and screenwriter. This is his first film in the English language, after having huge successes in Dutch language movies before.

Strong female lead(s)

The main character is one of the strongest women you will ever see on screen. Her daughter? Well, she might be even stronger. I will not spoil it for you, but basically: yeah, they both have to survive in more ways than one. I was immensely impressed by this movie. It has a very interesting format: there are four chapters and the way they are ordered and tell the story is something I don't see often in movie storytelling, and really helps with building the suspense. There will be a few times in the movie where you'll think: Really?! That's what happened?! OMG!" - but then - SURPRISE! Nothing is the way you thought it was anymore.

Gorgeous cinematography

As a photographer, I love the cinematography of the movie. It's grim, dark, somber, and full of amazing and well thought-out details. My heart jumps with joy if I'm in a movie theatre and I find a visual soulmate on the screen.

[It's time for you to watch the trailer.]

Passing the test

The film passed, for me, The Bechdel Test, because: Brimstone is about female strength, female bonds, female survivorship, and although the film is centered around a very present he (in more ways than one), I definitely believe after some discussion most people would let it pass the test.

IN CLOSING


I watched Brimstone with my oldest friend who I hope will start her blog on Steemit soon. When I came outside two women were waiting to enter the next run of Brimstone. "How did you like it?", they asked. "Wel eh... Pfff", was all I could say at first. I told them to 'enjoy' it but take a drink afterward. No way they would be able to go to bed immediately. They felt warned, I believe, and were giggling in suspense.

My friend and I walked out of the movie theatre, quiet. "Wait... Did that just... Did we just... Wow."
I can't remember us speaking much more after the movie.

We took a tram home, and had some grim, grim dreams.

Enjoy.


PS: If you are reading this and are interesting in what are in my view great reads on other 'Bechdel Test' movies, read the posts of @eaglespirit and @natureofbeing. They both shared movies that I haven't seen yet and are now on my watchlist. Maybe they can be on yours too!

PSII: I'm not joining to win. Power up your account with the prize money if for some reason I end up in the top 3. You deserve to have a successful 'career' on Steemit since you've been jumping on this Steemit train with a lot of enthusiasm and high-quality content and I'd love to be able to follow you for a long long time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now