My Muse - My Entry into STACH Short Story Contest #6

My Muse

By: @Lymmerik

My Entry Into STACH Short Story Contest #6

Long ago, while writing a song, I was inexplicably drawn to the window of my apartment. My view was of a single window embedded in the brick wall of the building opposite. I loved that window across from me as it was occupied by a lovely twenty year old blond. We would chat across the courtyard occasionally. Secretly, I wanted to get to know her, desperately!

window-1267602_960_720.jpg

Image Source

I was trying to rhyme a lyric; I might as well have been trying to rhyme with orange!
From across the courtyard, I heard her beautiful voice singing my song.

Falling, falling head over heels,
It would be easier if I couldn't feel; your breath
Nothing better than the air that you breathe...

...that's all I could come up with.

"Hey, that's my song!" I shouted.

"Really? I was just making it up as I go." She blushed.

"Please continue!" I begged.

Getting close to you is where I wanna be.

That was it! That finished my song.

We have been married for 50 years. "Where I wanna be." was a number one hit the day we got married. Right beside my muse, still to this day, is where I wanna be.


Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings!

@Lymmerik

Lymmerik Fish.png

Upvote Comment Resteem.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center