My Story My Truth: The Happiest Day Of My Life


grad.jpg
Source

It was a Saturday. There was an occasion. Everyone was seated in the gigantic hall of what would soon become my former school. About a hundred students or so were graduating. And yours sincerely, was one of them. As of now, the happiest day of my life was the day I graduated from University. I’m waiting for that event that’ll top this because the emotions that I felt on that day are out of this world.

Going to university in Nigeria isn’t as easy as it is in other climes. There’s the unending strikes by university lecturers which is the nightmare of most Nigerian students as they get to spend more years in school as a result of those.
Up until my graduation day, it felt like I was never going to leave school. Seated right there in the hall in my over-sized gown, it all began to look real. Finally, this little one, is going to leave school, certified to take on the world. As my certificate was handed over to me, I fainted a thousand times in my mind, lol. It was the happiest moment of my life. I couldn’t believe that that seemingly ordinary paper was going change my life forever. I was so happy that I couldn’t eat throughout that day. I kept staring at my certificate like it was a treasured artifact in a museum.

It appeared that my family was happier than I was. It wasn’t just my victory, it was our victory.

Word-count: 249

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center